Linda Benninghoff, “How I Would Like to Die”

orange line

How I Would Like to Die

I would like to die like a photograph
with all its pixels pushed to take in
the aqua of the grass, the sere woods, sky.
And I would like to die like a wheelbarrow
I dragged up a road, trudging, its cargo lost,
the branches, dirt, that fill it
dumped in the mulch pile.
I would like to die joyous, healthy,
as if the tremulousness
of illness would not matter much.
And I would like to die before my friends,
with them waiting for me, writing me,
advising me, visiting me, as if these things
could cushion me to a strange ending
to everything I have known,
captive now in the magnifying glass
of the past—
to everything that has come before.

 


Linda Benninghoff first became interested in poetry in her twenties when she was introduced to contemporary poetry, Galway Kinnell, W. S. Merwin, and so on. She was recently introduced to international contemporary poetry and says poetry has made a big difference in her life.


 

2 thoughts on “Linda Benninghoff, “How I Would Like to Die”

Leave a Reply

